Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UE4, Lightmaps, and Billboard LODs

Hello,

I am a UE4 Licensee Developer and full SpeedTree Licensee (Cyan, Inc.).

I'm in the process of troubleshooting some foliage lighting issues on Speed Tree grass/plants. Specifically, up until now, I have been using runtime-lit grass, to avoid unsightly lightmapping artifacts across multiple LODs. Due to some pretty gross limitations to UE4's ability to light runtime foliage across a large area with varied lighting conditions (it will only use a single indirect lighting cache sample for the entire system, no matter how large).... I am now in the process of attempting to get my foliage to play-nice with static lightmaps.

So far it's going okay, but a major hurdle I can't seem to overcome is the ugly lightmapping that gets generated for billboard-level LODs.

Here's a look at what I am seeing with a grass mesh with 3 LODs (2 mesh, and 1 billboard):

As you can see, the lighting is fairly acceptable all the way down thru the first 2 LOD's, but once the switch to the billboard occurs, the lighting gets super gross.

Here's a look at the lightmap UV's I'm generating in SpeedTree:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ST_LOD-02.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	123.2 KB
ID:	3320

I'm using a 16x16 lightmap, which works perfectly with the UV layout on the first 2 LODs, since each blade of grass gets its own texel. But as you can see, the billboard LODs seems to have been generated without respect to the higher-rez mesh's UV layout... So it's no surprise that the result looks like noisy garbage.

I've looked, but I can't seem to find any documentation or discussion regarding how to resolve this disconnect. The billboard generation process seems to happen in a black box without any authoring input (at least inside Speed Tree's modeller)... other than specifying the "billboard atlas size" in the Tree Properties. Certainly no UV controls.