Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help and guidance needed for a newbie to Speedtree. (Unity Edition)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help and guidance needed for a newbie to Speedtree. (Unity Edition)

First of all, hello fellow Speedtree artists!
    A quick introduction: Im currently working on a indie project, its an RPG/RTS game in an environment made using assets from Quixel. So we are aiming high-quality.
    What kind of tree i need help with: Im trying to create an animated tree, with "3 states", growing from a dead tree, to a 'normal' version, to a magical version and vice-versa. (see picture)

Im new to speedtree, but im a rather quick learner. I have watched most tutorials i could find on youtube, and read the documentation. However im still afraid in not equipped well enough, to create a quality tree (with the animation descripted above).

So far, i can get rather close to the "dead tree look", mainly using, the gnarl force and also twisting the shape of the spine, but since i dont understand the "coordinate-system" tools that well yet, i have to feel my way around, and it ends up looking "pixelated" in the corners of the gnarl effects on my tree. Even with materials on.
    I also believe i need a "magnet force" on top of the tree, pulling the branches upwars towards the same point, but i cant seem to get that working correctly.

Could you perhaps tell me how you would approach creating this tree concept, in the cleanest way, so it will also look natural in-game with its animation? (imagine the trunk tightening abit as the tree comes more alive, but not as twisted as on the 'magical tree in the picture').
    How would you create the trunk, and how would u create the "symmetrical branches" with set "vortex/gnarl/twist" effect that you see on the picture?

I hope you guys can help me understand the toolsets better, so i hopefully, can help others in the future aswell!

Sincerely,
    Nicolaj

Hi,