Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Modeling and European Beech

Hi everyone,

I have some experience modeling trees, but I want to improve with more practice and for that I am modeling an European Beech.

Something weird is happening when I add the Big Branches node to the main trunk. As you can see in the attached image, I get a white line when welding this geometry and get the following error message

Failed weld (branch too high on parent)

Not sure what do as the branches aren't that high, they start around .22 and finish at .98.

Any help is appreciated
    Last edited by Cyrus3v; 05-16-2019, 10:59 AM.

Hello,
    The weld failing also depends on the spread amounts and size of the branch itself. If you have a high spread but you're still relatively close to the top of the branch, there is no space for the blend geometry to attach. If your trunk is getting smaller towards the top, the radius of the branch might need to be lowered as well.

Comment

Thanks Sarah for the reply.

Attached is a screenshot of the tree. I tried making the branches smaller and radius lower, but without success. Could be the case that I am using a legacy node for the trunk? I think this tree was initially done in Cinema 7.

Comment

Did a quick test with a new trunk and the problem is solved. I guess I will have to copy all the settings from the old trunk to these new ones.

Comment

Hello! that is exactly it, the parent system needs to be on an upgraded spine generator. You can right click your generator and hit "upgrade" and your settings will be converted for you!

Comment

Originally posted by SarahScruggs View Post
            Hello! that is exactly it, the parent system needs to be on an upgraded spine generator. You can right click your generator and hit "upgrade" and your settings will be converted for you!
            Thanks.

I have another question:

Is there a way I can procedural avoid this intersection?

Comment