Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Subsurface Texture and Beginner Struggles

Hi there,
    I'm quite new to SpeedTree and experimenting for a few weeks to get stylized trees for an animation short film done in Unity.
    And because it plays in a forrest the trees really need to look gorgeous.

First of all. Today I tried to get the trees working in Unity in the HDRP pipeline which worked quite well.
    But the first thing I wanted to ask is, how to get a subsurface texture, in all the examples that come with SpeedTree they are already included and
    I found no tutorial or explanation on how to get them? Hope you can help me on this one.

And the next question is, how do I make my tree look better?
    Right now, it really looks like the tree consists of planes with textures applied to them (of course this is how it works, but I want to make it look good).
    Hopefully anyone has some tips and tricks as I'm still just experimenting around with this awesome piece of software

Here are some pics:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	tree_ex1.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	75.1 KB
ID:	6812
    This is the tree setup with fronds attached to branches and on those fronds leaf meshes with the same texture. But as you can see it doesn't look really good, especially in close-ups.

Name:	cluster_ex1.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	6813
    These are the clusters I created to get the textures for the fronds used in the tree.

Name:	tree_ex2.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	6814
    And this is the tree inside of Unity. I'm already happy with the look of the trunk texture (created in Substance Designer) but the foliage looks quite gross.

Hi,