Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What's my best strategy to make a bunch of video renders of trees growing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's my best strategy to make a bunch of video renders of trees growing?

Hello! I'm a total absolute beginner at Speedtree. I don't even have it yet!

I have a very specific need, and I'm trying to figure out what my best plan would be to execute it.

My end goal is this:
    20-30x individual 3-minute long rendered video files (or image sequences) with alpha channel, of single trees, profile angle. They grow a little bit, and go from bare to fully covered in leaves (with the leaves sprouting realistically). Bonus would be to have gentle wind ruffling them as well.

I'll be taking these rendered video files into Adobe After Effects and dropping them into an existing motion graphics project as 2d layers.

I have some limited 3d experience (A little Blender, a little C4D, etc).

What's my path of least resistance to creating this?

The game versions of Speedtree standalone or do I need to run them inside of a host environment like Unity, etc? Do I need Speedtree Cinema?

Do I need the tree library?

Can any of them render a video file out easily?

Is it easy to make a quick tree, animate its properties over time (like leaves sprouting, slight branch growth, etc) and then render it out?

MANY MANY THANKS for any help, fair users of Speedtree!

ps - alternatively, I could imagine making this work by getting an OBJ sequence of the animation exported out, and then loading that to render in one of my 3d apps, but it's definitely suboptimal in terms of workflow complexity.
    Last edited by titaniumdoughnut; 01-24-2020, 06:52 PM.

Hi titaniumdoughnut : SpeedTree Cinema is what you'll need to do what you've described. You can download an evaluation of SpeedTree Cinema here: https://store.speedtree.com/store/sp...-8-evaluation/