Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Attempt to convert paid assets to work with Unity HDRP (2021.1.7f1)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Attempt to convert paid assets to work with Unity HDRP (2021.1.7f1)

After two failed presales attempt to find out whether or not Speedtree tree packs (through the website and Twitter) I bit the bullet and purchased a few packs due to the fact I'm on a timeline. If I was a graphics artist, I would not have wasted my time trying to get these assets working and would have just done it myself. I followed the directions at the "The State of the SpeedTree unity HDRP Pipeline".

In picture one, you will see the outcome of the awesome trees I purchased.
    In picture two, you'll see the lack of response from the presales department. Unfortunately, I cannot give proof I sent a presales question a few days prior to going on Twitter.
    In picture three, you'll see other assets purchased that state they are Unity compatible and deliver what they promise. (No canned responses necessary, it's your product, deliver!)

The link I posted also states we should pull a diffuse profile from a non-hdrp asset from the Unity Asset Store (Book of the Dead).

(Per the link)

Adjusting the SSS Diffusion Profile

Unity employs a lightweight subsurface and transmission technique (outlined here) that relies on diffusion profile settings to control the lighting parameters.

You can grab the diffusion profile from the Book of the Dead asset, or create one from scratch by right-clicking in the project window and selecting create -> rendering -> diffusion profile settings.

Then connect the diffusion profile to your HD render pipeline asset.

The sample diffusion profile that comes with an HDRP with extras project includes sample foliage and skin profiles. We made a few tweaks but ended up some with a setting fairly close to the one used in the Book of the Dead.

Important notes: